Letting Go of Resentment

I don’t know whether I’m writing this for you as much as I’m writing this for me.

Beyonce-live1

Have you ever heard “Resentment” by Beyoncé? That’s a real song! That’s how I know Jigga must have cheated on her because that right there you can’t fake. You can only sing that if you’ve been through it.

Here are some of the lyrics:

I’ll never forget feeling like I was no good
Like I couldn’t do it for you like that WHACK BITCH could
And it’s all because you lied

I know she was attractive, but I was here first
Been ridin’ with you for six years*
Why did I deserve to be treated this way by you, you
I know you’re probably thinking what’s up with Bey
But I’m crying, yes, I’m crying, can’t stop crying

You could have told me you weren’t happy
I know you didn’t wanna hurt me
But look what you’ve done to me now
I gotta look at her in her eyes and see she’s had half of me
She ain’t even half of me

*Here each girl enters the respective time span of their latest relationship.

I remember listening to that song for the first time back in the day. I remember going, “Oh my gosh Bey called her a whack bitch!” and “You right, Bey! She ain’t even half of you!” I remember remarking about how great it was and thinking about how much I loved my Auntie Bey. I remember saying to myself, she did it again. She really put her soul into it. And most of all, I remember praying like hell that I’d never have to go through anything like that!

ATTN: “the next train’s coming” has moved!

Finish reading this article at thenexttrainscoming.com.

 

Leave a Reply

